You Can Always Change Your Mind

This is probably the best advice I’ve ever received. Interestingly enough, it was in response to a very insignificant Facebook status that I posted. But somehow it kept resonating in my mind – kinda like an endless pinball game bouncing around in my brain. Ping! Ping! Ping! (You should probably imagine flashing lights & tasteless music to get the full effect)

Maybe I’m the only one in the world who makes bad decisions on a continuous basis, but I’m betting (hoping) that is not the case. How many times have you made a bad decision…realized it was a bad decision…and yet somehow felt the need to continue? Like, you owed it to the bad decision to do the deed.

Like…for example…buying that really expensive item that you knew you couldn’t afford…

Like…for example…painting your TV red…

Like…for example…eating an entire pint of ice cream…

Like…for example…falling in love…

Okay, that was probably the worst transition known to man (and OF COURSE I’ve NEVER painted my TV red…no, seriously, never…) but I really just wanted to get to the point.

So I was having a moment and then I read these words on FB, “You Can Always Change Mind” and had a revelation. I realized that more often than not experiences end because somebody simply changed their mind. Okay, follow me here…

If your ex sleeps with your best friend, they decided that you no longer fulfill that sexual need. They decided that they wanted something different (not necessarily better…trying to remain neutral here). They simply changed their mind.

If your best friend stops calling you 10 times a day to chat, or stops txting you those random (but smile jerking) messages 30 times a day; they decided you weren’t the voice they wanted to hear anymore. They changed their mind. (And they’re sleeping with your boyfriend. JUST KIDDING!)

If your co-workers stop inviting you to happy hour, if your neighbor stops waving in the mornings, if your favorite diner closes…they changed their minds.

And while we live in an information-rich society where the who’s, what’s, why’s, and how’s are a few keystrokes away…you’re not a mind reader. And neither am I. So who really knows why someone changed mind?

But at the end of the day you do have the power to simply change your mind.

And so do they… that was my revelation.    -i

~ by EclecticEnigma on August 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
