Wordplay Foreplay

images

In an age where 2-line txt msgs impatiently pounded between commitments have replaced 2-page love letters, and intimate candlelight dinners with a bottle of wine and a lover have been extinguished by trendy happy hours with $15 cocktails that end in a “morning after” that eludes one’s memory…I wonder, is romance dead?  If ‘I Do’ ends in ‘I Don’t’ 50% of the time, have the words of love lost their meaning?  

How many times have you been out to dinner and spied that couple with nothing to say? She’s looking at him wondering, “How can I spend the rest of my life with someone I can’t even have a dinner conversation with?”; he’s thinking, “$50 steak?  I better get some tonight”.  And both are checking their blackberries.  How many times have you been that couple?

When you no longer have anything to say to each other besides the pleasantries of daily living, do you still have a relationship?  

When wordplay foreplay dies, does the relationship follow?  

Please Note: I’m not certified in giving relationship advice.  I’m probably the antithesis of a relationship therapist considering all of my relationships have been  unsuccessful. So, don’t take any immediate action based on what I’m about to say.

Things Fall Apart.  Sometimes no one is to blame.

But if you find you’ve lost your words, then I think you’ve lost your way.

If you find yourself on the receiving end of a silent dinner date, remember that life is too short to be silenced.  

Live Outloud.     -i

~ by EclecticEnigma on June 26, 2009.

Leave a comment