Home Away From Home

Having spent many years in the Midwest – Louisville, Indianapolis, Louisville (again) – I can’t say that I have anything really great to say about the Midwest except that the people are “salt of the earth” and that the Interstate drive is much more interesting than flat Florida (i.e. ‘Beware of Falling Rocks’ signs posted every few miles). 

So, clearly, I was sublimely surprised and elated when I found The Roxx Coffeehouse & Games.  

To be completely honest, The Roxx found me as I was frustrated & lost and trying to find my way to I-275.  

store_outside

And as I passed a car with a couple of plywood planks boosted up and painted with the store’s signage, I realized that a cup of java would boost my mood, and (hopefully) bring me some luck.  So, I made a U-ey and walked in.

Immediately, you are greeted with some SUPA-TRICK’d-OUT-COMPUTERS!!!  I mean, I don’t know what they do, I don’t know how they work, but I DO know that  they  were  H-O-T and if I were a tech-junkie that I would much rather game at The Roxx where the coffee is good and cheap, the snacks are sugar-laden, and friends abound; than home alone with mom’s leftover spaghetti.

The coffee comes dark, medium, or light and is self-serve unless you desire a fancy-schmancy latte or mocha.  If you’re a regular, you walk behind the counter and ring up your own order, as comfortable here as you would be in your own kitchen.  

Latte

The mood is chill.  Period.  These two friends (see below) napped to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off while waiting for their final exam to begin at 9am down the street.  One of four proprietors woke them up just in time, sending them off with some fresh heat.

Chill...Period

Chill

The equipment is fierce.  Again, I have no idea what it does or how it works, but it looks pretty wicked to me.

Fierce

The experience, well, it’s priceless.  So check it out.  Even if you’re a Suit, you’ll find your game.     -i

p.s. Jinny does henna tattoes at night for the low-low.  I didn’t get to make it back for some ink’d-fabulousness, but it’s definitely on my agenda when I return!

~ by EclecticEnigma on June 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
